7 Comments
Apr 25, 2023Liked by Grace Pengelly

I'm late... i know! But couldn't not comment! I'm currently reading The Hidden Life of Trees, (Its superb) and as a result I'm growing a deeper love for them, I already take far to many photos of trees, I particularly love them in autumn and winter when they are revealed in their nakedness. In recent months i have touched and stroked more trees than ever before, I have been seen... hugging them! My wife has evidence! There is something so profound about trees, when you consider the length of time some of them have been around and what they have seen and witnessed... totally mesmerising.

Expand full comment
Apr 24, 2023Liked by Grace Pengelly

I am feeling slightly frustrated; I usually try to mark the spring by going foraging, particularly to a local patch of wild garlic. But I've been too busy with work and life in the past few weeks to find the time to get out there, and I'm annoyed because the wild garlic soon will be out of season and I'll have missed it until next year. So, I guess I'm frustrated that life so often doesn't leave us room to cultivate a relationship with the land around us.

Expand full comment
author

I know exactly what you mean, Evan. Yesterday I went for a walk that I did almost daily during lockdown, but haven't had the time to do properly for about six months. I felt so great afterwards and was left wondering why I don't prioritise it more. I hope you find a sliver of time to get some garlic! Thanks for sharing.

Expand full comment
Apr 22, 2023Liked by Grace Pengelly

My hope is replenished after joining with other pilgrims at The Big One yesterday. A spine tingling moment singing Amazing Grace outside Shell headquarters.

Expand full comment
author

That sounds amazing!

Expand full comment
Apr 22, 2023Liked by Grace Pengelly

I am bowled over by the blue skies and cherry blossom this week ❤️

Expand full comment
author

So beautiful!

Expand full comment